Author Interview: Kelli Wilkins Talking about Ultimate Night's Delights

Talking with Kelli A. Wilkins About… Ultimate Night’s Delights 

Q: Ultimate Night’s Delights is the third book in a series of erotic historical romances. Tell us more about the trilogy.

A: Ultimate Night’s Delights is the third (and final) story in a trilogy that began with A Midsummer Night’s Delights and continued with A Midwinter Night’s Delights. I never intended to write a trilogy, but the characters kept popping up in my head, and I knew they had more stories to tell.

I want to mention that although the books start off as “straight” romances, everything heats up for the characters and before long they’re experimenting with M/M, F/F, and various group encounters. All three books are super-hot and have something for everyone!

A Midsummer Night’s Delights introduced readers to newlyweds Julian and Annabelle. They were strangers trapped in an arranged, sexless marriage. To loosen them up, Julian’s father sends them to the Marquis of Demby’s estate to attend a Midsummer Ball. (And this type of ball isn’t for dancing…)

Julian and Annabelle meet the Marquis, Vincent, and his wife, Sabrina. Over the course of their visit, they learn how to open up and explore their sexuality. When they attend the Midsummer Ball, they shed their inhibitions while indulging in their wildest fantasies.

A Midwinter Night’s Delights picks up six months after the first book. (If you haven’t read the first story, that’s okay – each novella stands alone as an individual read. And yes, this book is just as hot – if not hotter – than the first one.)

In the sequel, we discover that Annabelle and Julian have taken what they’ve learned and gone wild. Ever since the summer ball, they have been overindulging in all sorts of erotic activities and are more than eager to give in to their desires whenever (and wherever) the mood strikes – even if it’s at a formal dinner party. Needless to say, Julian’s father sends them back to Vincent’s estate to be disciplined and learn self-control.

A Midwinter Night’s Delights is more intense than the first book. From the outset, readers know that Julian and Annabelle are learning lessons and being disciplined – but it’s all for their own good. I sprinkled in some B/D/S/M to make things interesting. It was fun to explore a different side to the games that take place at the estate and watch how the characters reacted as they received their ‘punishments’ throughout the book. I also shared the backstory about how Vincent and Sabrina met, and introduced two new characters, Lono and Lobo.

Both books got excellent reviews and readers fell in love with the characters. After writing a few other romances, I knew I needed to wrap up the series, and Ultimate Night’s Delights was born.

Here’s the summary:

Julian and Annabelle are back for a final ball!

The Marquis of Demby’s Midsummer and Midwinter Balls changed Julian and Annabelle forever. Freed from their inhibitions, they now help other shy couples explore their sexual urges and hidden desires.

But life on Vincent and Sabrina’s estate is anything but tranquil. The notorious Duke of Blackwell has discovered the secret about the naughty balls and is out to destroy the marquis.

Vincent refuses to deny the rumors about the “anything goes” parties he hosts, and turns to his friends for assistance. Together, they devise a plan to defeat the Black Duke…and still find time for a few erotic games.


In Ultimate Night’s Delights, I expanded Lono and Lobo’s characters and made them an essential part of the story. I think readers will enjoy the last installment of the series and be satisfied at the ending.

Q: Was it your plan all along to have someone try to end the erotic parties hosted by Vincent and Sabrina?

A: Not at all. When I started plotting the book, I wasn’t sure what direction to go. I knew there had to be something interesting (beyond a naughty ball) that raised the stakes for everyone, and I thought about blackmail. (It’s always a good motive!) From there, I developed the idea of the Black Duke out to destroy Vincent. Then I had to devise a clever way to tie it all together at the end.

Q: Is this the end or will there be more books in the series?

A: This is the last book in the trilogy/series. But just because Vincent’s games will end, it doesn’t mean the characters won’t have fun off-page. I invite readers who fell in love with these characters to visit my site and catch up on all of my romances. I’ve written spicy stories in all genres, including another historical trilogy.

Q: What’s next for you Kelli?

A: I’m working on a few new romances for Amber Quill Press, including a paranormal and another gay romance. Readers can keep up with my news, get inside looks at my books, writing tips, and more on my blog.

Thanks for letting me share a bit about my latest romance. I love talking about books and writing, and I invite readers to contact me with questions about my stories. (Links are below.)

Happy Reading,

Readers can find me on the web here:




Amber Quill Press Author page

Medallion Press Author Page




About the Author:

Kelli A. Wilkins writes in several genres including romance, horror, and non-fiction. Her Amber Quill Press romances span multiple genres, including gay, historical, fantasy, contemporary, and paranormal. Her most recent romance, ULTIMATE NIGHT'S DELIGHTS, an erotic historical, was released in September 2013. Readers can learn more about Kelli’s romances on her site: and her weekly blog:


Post a Comment

Zipper Rippers Blog Design by Ipietoon